Why does my funny bone feel so funny?

There's nothing humorous about your humerus

Ahh, the funny bone. The most pointlessly painful part of the human body. Now I know there’s a reason we feel pain – if it didn’t feel pain when we hurt ourselves we’d be doing a lot more damage to our relatviely fragile bodies. But why, even if we just tap our ‘funny bone’ lightly, do we feel a ridiculous amount of pain and tingling?

Well let’s start with the name of the so-called  ‘funny bone’. A lot of people already know that the term funny bone came from a play on words on the bone in our upper arm – the humerus. Humerus sounds a lot like humourous, and add that to the strange tingling we get when we hit our elbow, and you get the ‘funny bone’! The only problem is that it’s not actually the bone that we’re hurting. Bones don’t feel pain – nerves do, and in this case it is our ulnar nerve causing all the fuss.

Our ulnar nerve is named after the ulna bone that, along with the radius bone, makes up our forearm. Unlike most nerves, the ulnar nerve is unprotected by bone or muscle. In fact it’s the largest unprotected nerve in the body. This is why, even though we might hit other parts of our body just as frequently, we don’t hit such big nerves anywhere else, and the funny feeling is restricted to our ‘funny bone’.

So we’ve covered why the ulnar nerve hurts, but why then, you might ask, is it in such a stupidly exposed place? Well, unfortunately, that’s the way evolution goes – it doesn’t make us perfect, just good enough to survive. That’s why we are all born with a pointless tailbone, and why emus can’t walk backwards. As long as we’re still alive, evolution has done it’s job!

76 Comments

Filed under The human body

76 responses to “Why does my funny bone feel so funny?

  1. Hi, Neat post. There is a problem together with your site in web
    explorer, may test this? IE still is the market chief
    and a good component to other folks will miss your wonderful writing because
    of this problem.

  2. Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation;
    many of us have created some nice methods and we are looking to trade techniques with
    other folks, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  3. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have learn this submit and if I could I desire to
    suggest you few interesting issues or advice.
    Maybe you could write next articles relating to this article.
    I want to read even more issues about it!

  4. You actually make it seem so easy along with your presentation but I
    find this matter to be really one thing that I believe I would by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and extremely
    wide for me. I am looking forward in your subsequent publish,
    I will attempt to get the grasp of it!

  5. I am really glad to glance at this weblog posts which carries lots
    of valuable information, thanks for providing these kinds of statistics.

  6. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A couple of my blog audience have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

  7. Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  8. Wow, superb weblog structure! How lengthy have you
    ever been running a blog for? you make blogging glance easy.
    The entire glance of your site is wonderful, let alone the content material!

  9. Very rapidly this site will be famous amid all blogging and site-building people, due to it’s
    pleasant articles or reviews

  10. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard
    against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any
    tips?

  11. If some one wishes expert view regarding blogging and site-building after that i
    propose him/her to visit this web site, Keep up the
    good work.

  12. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author
    for your site. You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely
    love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.

    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Thanks!

  13. After going over a handful of the articles on your web site,
    I honestly appreciate your technique of blogging.
    I book-marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back
    soon. Take a look at my website too and let me know
    what you think.

  14. Great weblog right here! Additionally your site a lot up fast!
    What host are you the use of? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink
    for your host? I wish my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  15. I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i am
    glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent :
    D. Good job, cheers

  16. Awesome! Its truly awesome paragraph, I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this
    article.

  17. This piece of writing is in fact a good one it assists new web visitors,
    who are wishing for blogging.

  18. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A
    handful of my blog readers have complained about my blog not operating correctly
    in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have
    any suggestions to help fix this problem?

  19. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult
    to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance.
    I must say you have done a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads super quick for me on Internet explorer.
    Exceptional Blog!

  20. What’s up to every one, it’s actually a nice for me to pay a quick visit this website,
    it includes important Information.

  21. If yyou wiksh for to improve your knowledge simply keep visiting
    this web page and bee updated with the hottest gossip posted here.

  22. The heart of your writing whilst appearing agreeable initially, did not work very well with me personally after some time. Someplace throughout the sentences you managed to make me a believer unfortunately just for a while. I still have got a problem with your leaps in assumptions and one might do well to fill in those breaks. In the event that you actually can accomplish that, I will certainly end up being fascinated.

  23. MADRID.— Luego de que Estados Unidos acusó a ejecutivos de la Banca Privada d´Andorra (BPA) de colaborar en el blanqueo de capitales de clientes rusos, chinos y venezolanos, se conoció que varias organizaciones mafiosas estaban entre sus clientes, incluido el cartel de Sinaloa. Si el acceso es exitoso nuestro sistema eliminara el bloqueo de manera inmediata y usted podra seguir disfrutando de todos nuestros servicios.

Leave a Reply

